« It is astonishing for me to see how Annette Douglas manages to push the expansion of her company with such great determination and strong entrepreneurial thinking next to her extraordinary flair for creative work. Despite her demanding operative activities in numerous, personally implemented projects, she always finds time for excellent innovation. Thereby, she does not only maintain her leading position on the market -
she even expands it »

 

Marco Gruber, Partner Gruber Partner AG
VRP Annette Douglas Textiles AG

Annette Douglas

Design and Engineering

Annette Douglas lives and works for textiles, design and innovation with every fibre. She is multi award-winning and successful, Swiss-based designer with British roots. She has duel British and Swiss nationality and is the third generation of her family to work in the textile industry. Her grandfather, Robert Douglas, was CEO of Dobson & Barlow Textile Machinery in Bolton, Great Britain. Her father, Keith Douglas, worked in Textile Engineering at Zellweger Uster. He translated major textile technical literature from English to German.

Annette Douglas’s special ability lies in her twin competence, design and engineering. As a designer she can draw upon her sensitivity to the subtleties of colour, shape and materials. Her technical expertise and understanding ensure that her ideas and designs actually work in practice. As a guest lecturer at Universities of Applied Science and Art, she brings in her experience and knowledge.

Stations of the education and training of Annette Douglas:
▪ STF Swiss Textile College, 1992-1993, Wattwil
▪ University of Art & Design, Textiledesign, 1993-1997, Basel
▪ ETH Textiletechnology, Visiting Student, 2003-2004, Zurich
▪ Master Class Hella Jongerius, 2008 Tilburg Netherlands
▪ Project Management R & D, HSLU 2011-2012, Lucerne

In 1999 Annette Douglas set up her own business. Meanwhile, the company is a public company based in Wettingen in an old spinning mill, a few kilometers north-west of Zurich.

« Erstaunlich für mich ist, wie Annette Douglas
bei allem gestalterischen Flair mit grosser Entschiedenheit und ausgeprägtem unternehmerischem Denken den Aufbau ihrer Unternehmung vorantreibt. Trotz ihrer hohen operativen Belastung in den zahlreichen, von ihr persönlich umgesetzten Projekten findet sie immer auch noch Zeit für Innovationen. Sie hält damit nicht nur den Vorsprung am Markt aufrecht - sondern baut ihn
sogar noch aus »


Marco Gruber, Partner Gruber Partner AG
VRP Annette Douglas Textiles AG

Annette Douglas

tailor-made aus einer Hand

Mit jeder Faser lebt und arbeitet Annette Douglas für Textilien, Design und Innovationen. Sie ist eine erfolgreiche und vielfach ausgezeichnete Designerin. Sie ist britisch-schweizerische Doppelbürgerin und in dritter Generation in der Textilbranche tätig. Ihr Grossvater, Robert Douglas, war CEO von Dobson & Barlow Textile Machinery in Bolton, Grossbritannien. Ihr Vater, Keith Douglas, arbeitete als Textilingenieur bei Zellweger Uster und hat bedeutende Textilfachliteratur übersetzt.

Die besondere Fähigkeit von Annette Douglas liegt in ihrer Doppelkompetenz im Design und im „Engineering“. Als Designerin kann sie sich auf ihr subtiles Farb-, Form- und Materialempfinden verlassen. Ihr technisches Wissen und Verständnis sorgen dafür, dass ihre Ideen und Entwürfe tatsächlich realisierbar sind. Ihr Wissen und ihre Erfahrung, gibt sie auch gerne als Gastdozentin den Studenten der Hochschulen weiter.

Stationen der Aus- und Weiterbildung von Annette Douglas:
▪  STF Schweizerische Textilfachschule, 1992-1993, Wattwil
▪  Schule für Gestaltung, Textildesign, 1993-1997, Basel
▪  ETH, Textiltechnologie Gaststudentin, 2003 - 2004, Zürich
▪  Masterclass mit Hella Jongerius, 2008, Tilburg Holland
▪  Projektmanagement F & E, HSLU 2011-2012, Luzern

1999 gründet Annette Douglas ihre eigene Unternehmung. Inzwischen ist das Unternehmen eine Aktiengesellschaft mit Sitz in Wettingen in der alten Spinnerei, wenige Kilometer nordwestlich von Zürich